Cake! And Ice Cream!

My apologies for not posting much this week – it has been a busy one as we celebrated Cavebaby’s first birthday on Friday!  So what did I make for the Cavebaby to celebrate his special day?  For dinner he had Chocolate Chili and sweet potatoes, and of course cake and ice cream for dessert!  While I know that cake and ice cream are not even close to primal/paleo eating, for birthdays and special occasions I have no problem making and consuming these treats with a clean conscience.  The key is to pick a sweetener you feel comfortable consuming, and use less.  I think it also helped that I had spent the previous 30 days consuming no sweeteners whatsoever, so even a little bit tasted fantastic.

I used an Ina Garten recipe for the ice cream because it didn’t call for eggs.  Eggs are like gold around this place – especially when we get pastured ones, which was all I had in the fridge, and I was going to use four of those babies in the cake.  So here is how I made the ice cream:

2 c heavy cream

1/8 – 1/4 c sugar

pinch salt

1/2 t vanilla

  • Heat all ingredients until sugar dissolves
  • Chill mixture overnight
  • Run mixture through ice cream maker until frozen

How easy is that?!

Now for the cake: I used a recipe my mom has been making for at least the last 20 years or so.  We were fortunate to live in Germany, along the French border in those days, and got to eat so much delicious food!  It definitely made an impact on my cooking style.  This is a flourless chocolate cake, and its texture is rich and a little fudge-y.  A small slice goes a long way.  The ingredients and directions for this cake can be found here.  I used about 6 ounces of chocolate though – 72% Valrhona from Trader Joe’s.  I also used half the sugar the recipe called for – about 1/4 c. 

Filling and frosting – because the rich cake wasn’t enough I had to gild the lily a little bit.  I decided I was going to try to split the cake in half, spread some filling in the middle, and enrobe the entire thing in ganache.  The filling I used was whipped ganache, recipe found here.  Since it was a filling, I halved the recipe, then further halved the added sugar.  It was yum! 

For the frosting, I melted 2 more bars of Valhrona 72% in the microwave and then added heavy cream – about 1/2 – 3/4 c – until the texture was pour-able.  I also added a tablespoon of sugar to sweeten it a bit.  After cooling the filled cake in the fridge for about 2 hours, I poured the warm ganache over the top and spread it around gently with a spoon.  It was a beautiful cake, and the taste was out of this world!

Here are some pictures for you to enjoy:

4 responses

    • Thank you! I have also done this cake in a heart-shaped pan and covered it with the ganache, then decorated it with sliced toasted almonds around the edge. It made the cake look irresistable!

Leave a Reply

