Whole29.9

So in all honesty I didn’t make it to 30 days.  I could have, but I chose to eat off plan the very last night, a little bit.  What can I say?  Chips and salsa are my kryptonite!  I would go back and do it again, though – no regrets. 

So what did I learn from doing a Whole30 challenge?  A lot of things.  I like to think of myself as a pretty disciplined person, but this challenged me more so, and stretched my creativity as well.  Throwing a pat of butter in the pan for whatever I was cooking was second nature to me (as was throwing a pat into my mouth!).  I was able to break that habit, and cooked with either coconut oil or ghee.  On a side note, it is a lot less expensive to make your own ghee than to buy it at the health food store – like $5 cheaper.  I was using about 2 jars a week (I’m feeding 5 people here!) so that adds up.  It’s just that I would run out at the most inopportune moment.  Now the kids have accidentally recycled the jars I was using to store it, so I will have to find another way.  I really like cooking with ghee and I think I will continue to do so in the future.

I also broke the coffee cream habit (though I did use some this morning, and am paying a price.  A sneezy, runny nose price.  Yuck!) and now use some coconut oil and coconut milk in my coffee.  It’s not much different, just no nasal allergies when my cup is done.  I don’t think I will go back to using heavy cream in my coffee.  Like the way I feel after drinking alcohol, it’s just not worth it.

I am learning to like leftovers.  At least, I like not having to put together a 3- or 4-course meal every single night.  I have taken some lessons from Melissa Joulwan’s book Well Fed, and NomNom Paleo’s website for cooking up a lot of protein.  The sides are usually a quick and easy item – a salad, some sautéed greens, etc.  We are heading into an especially busy season with kid activities and copious amounts of cooking and cleaning daily will make me crabby!  For a family of 5 (yes, one of them is a baby but he eats mostly the same food that we do) I have to cook 3-4 lbs of meat in order to have some for dinner that night and leftovers later in the week.

Results.  You want results?  I’ve got results.  I probably lost about 5 lbs.  I can now comfortably wear my smallest nursing bra, on the smallest hooks; I can’t wear the ones I used a year ago at all they are so huge (since having the baby I have probably lost a total of 60 lbs).  In fact, I fit all of my pre-pregnancy clothes very comfortably; in another 5 lbs or so it will be time to go down to a smaller size.  That feels good, especially since I will have one of those big-decade birthdays in about a month.  I have always wanted to enter those birthdays feeling great – and this is the year it is going to happen, thanks to living a clean paleo lifestyle.

Energy.  I have it.  In abundance!  My eyes snap open at 6 am every morning.  I am mentally alert and ready to take on the day!  My fuzzy, foggy need for 2 large mugs of splenda-cream coffee and 2 hours of reading on the internet until I feel human is gone.  I can wake up and cook first thing (before, I didn’t trust myself until I hit that 2 hour timeframe – too foggy!) if I want to.  It leaves me with more time in my day to be active, proactive, and that is a great feeling.  No longer am I just a consumer of internet junk, television junk, whatever junk; I try to be a generator of something positive either for my family or for this blog.  Am I making any sense? 

This week I will play around with what works and what doesn’t.  Obviously cream in my coffee doesn’t.  But I will use that cream to make some homemade ice cream for our little Cavebaby’s 1st birthday!  I will also use the beautiful chocolate I bought to make a flourless cake as well.  And plan an awesome little feast in his honor!  Then, perhaps, I will return to another Whole30 challenge, or just maintain a slightly stricter paleo practice, knowing that it makes me feel great. 

If you are interested in trying a Whole30 challenge, check out this website.  There is a lot of information for free, but also a guide for purchase I think.  I didn’t buy the guide, but a lot of people have commented on how helpful it is.  I really enjoyed their post yesterday about completing your Whole30 experience: now what?

2 responses

  1. Yay, you! I was hoping there’d be a post about your Whole 30 (or 29.9; engineers and their OCD precision). I’m on day 18, and I feel amazing; though my goodness, I miss my booze. Like you, I don’t think I’m going to eat much differently come day 31. I’m glad it went well for you!

    • Yay both of us! I figured I had to start a blog to express what the lifestyle has done for me in terms of energy and health – I was being annoying on FB I am sure…this way if people want to know what I am up to they can come and check it out without being bombarded with status updates (though I do link through twitter and fb, so maybe I am still being a little annoying!).

      Still eating mostly the same this week with the exception of a square of chocolate in the evening. Tomorrow will be different as it is CaveBaby’s birthday – but then back to being mostly strict with a few splurges here and there.

Leave a Reply

