Still Eating Leftovers…with a side of Crab salad

It sure helped get through the week though!  I have discovered that most in my family are not huge fans of leftovers, but with all the running around we have to do for teenager activities after school, it’s just not possible to cook a gourmet meal, run kids around, and run around after a baby.  So they are just going to have to learn how to deal with eating leftovers!

I did make a little crab salad yesterday with my homemade mayonnaise.  It was pretty good.  I ate it with some avocado and tomatoes.  I also made 6 lbs of meatballs yesterday.  About 1/3 of them went into my Albondigas Soup.  My husband raced home from work on Wednesday and Thursday (about 40 mi away) to come home, change out of his uniform, and either eat a light meal, or (this is what a good wife I was yesterday!) hand me his lunchbucket, which I unpacked and quickly repacked with some crab salad, veggie chips, and a sparkling water.  Then he was out the door to take our son to his 2-hour lacrosse practice 45 mi away.  I knew it was going to be chilly and windy, so I figured the Albondigas Soup would be a nice dinner to come home to, and it was.  It was also a dance night for our daughter (60 mi away!) and she came home complaining of a sore throat, so she was served a nice hot bowl of soup too. 

I wanted to do a remoulade-type sauce for the crab salad, but for once I couldn’t find any capers in my fridge.  So I cut up some cornichon instead.  Next time I will make sure I have the ingredients I need!  Anyway, my lunch was healthy and colorful:

Leave a Reply

