Roasted Garlic Salad Dressing

This is for a friend who takes amazing photographs.  I have been making this recipe for the last couple of weeks because I roasted a head of garlic one day.  Being primal/paleo has really forced me to read labels, to be concerned about what chemicals I am pouring into my body, and bottled salad dressing has too many of them.  One of these days I am going to make a paleo ranch dressing; when I do I will let you know how it is.  For now, I just make vinaigrettes.

1-2 roasted garlic cloves

1-2 anchovy filets (don’t be afraid! it will add a delightful umami flavor)

pinch salt, pepper

1/2 t honey (optional, omit if Whole30)

fresh or dried herbs (get creative here, or just use that jar of “Italian Seasoning” in your cabinet

1/4 c vinegar (creativity counts here too! Sherry, red wine, champagne, rice, etc)

Mix the above ingredients until blended.  Then slowly add up to 1/2 cup quality olive oil.  Blend quickly with a whisk or use one of those handy bullet blenders.  My bullet blender (thanks, Mom!) does such an amazing job it actually emulsifies the dressing, creating a uniform consistency throughout.  I store the unused portion in the fridge and use it again the next night!

Leave a Reply

