Choucroute Garnie

Gesundheit.  I love German and French food.  Especially when the two nationalities collide in porky, beefy, sauerkrauty slow cooked goodness.  With a smoked ham shank on top. (I prefer the shanks to the trotters.  They are easier to navigate, and less weird.)

I served this with the traditional boiled potatoes for the carbivores in the family, and some sautéed kale.  On the side I had some grainy mustard, dijon mustard, and some horseradish aioli.  But Hellmans isn’t paleo, you say?  But what else am I going to do with the farm fresh eggs I picked up today?  So fresh they were sitting under a hen yesterday morning?  Oh yeah, I went there.  Not there, but I totally cranked out a batch of homemade mayo 5 minutes before I got dinner on the table.  Sometimes I’m that good.  Not always – that would be bragging, but sometimes.

Anyway, here’s the recipe.  Do what you will with this!  But if the photographs of mountains of sausage don’t tempt you, nothing will.  You are impervious to the power of ground, spiced meat in tube form and Anthony Bourdain would probably shun you. 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

