Hungarian Goulash

Our basket from Abundant Harvest came today, and I am including a couple of pictures of the beautiful produce we received in this post.  In the What The Heck Do I Do With This (WTHDIDWT) vein, I managed to use the head of red cabbage, some dill, and the rainbow chard in tonight’s dinner.  I am going to call the recipe for the Hungarian Goulash a semi-original; I have been making it for so many years I don’t use a recipe, and have tweaked it along the way.  So I will do my best to capture how I make it – please know that quantities are approximate and to season to your own liking while the stew is cooking.

Hungarian Goulash

2-3 lb chuck roast, trimmed and cut in to chunks (1 -2 inches, as desired); dried with paper towels

2-4 T ghee

1 onion diced

4 cloves garlic minced

2 carrots, small dice

2 stalks celery, small dice

1-2 dates, minced

2tsp dried thyme

2T sweet paprika

1tsp dijon mustard

1T Worcestershire sauce

1 28 oz can diced tomatoes

1 c broth, red wine, or water

1 c sour cream or creme fraiche

1. Brown meat in batches in a large pot in ghee.  Set aside.

2. Add more ghee and vegetables.  Cook until soft.

3.  Add remaining ingredients through the broth. 

4.  Cook on the stovetop until tender, 2+ hours.  I set the timer to check/stir every 20 minutes to make sure it doesn’t burn on the bottom.

5. Add sour cream just before serving.  Also optional: use a little hot paprika in addition to the sweet.  Spicy!

I ate this tonight without the sour cream due to being off dairy.  It was still very good!  I will have an additional post with the side dishes.  Until then, enjoy some pictures!

UPDATE:  I forgot to include the fact that I added minced dates to this recipe.  The original recipe called for a tablespoon of brown sugar.

Leave a Reply

