Braised Red Cabbage

We received a beautiful head of red cabbage in the basket today and I knew just the recipe to use it for.  The Crankin’ Kitchen is one of my favorite paleo/primal recipe websites; there are a lot of beautiful pictures of delicious food so, needless to say, I visit frequently.  It is the location of my most favorite chicken ever – do give it a try; don’t be intimidated by the lengthy list of ingredients; in fact, I made a larger quantity of the spice rub to use for future chickens!

I didn’t bother to take pictures of my own attempt of this recipe; hers are so beautiful, mine would look sad.  I was worried I wouldn’t like the cabbage much because I love sweet and sour red cabbage in the jar so much; it is a staple on our Thanksgiving table every year, perhaps a nod to my grandfather’s semi-German heritage (actually, that side of his family turned out to Irish, they immigrated to Germany in search of a better life, then later made their way to America).  However, this recipe was very good!  I used ghee instead of butter, and my spices were already ground.  When cooked, the cabbage had a delicately spiced flavor and lovely texture.  It is a wonderful way to eat your colors!

2 responses

    • You are welcome! I have been enjoying your blog for the last 1.5 years! Your recipes are amazing, and the photography makes me say in my head, “I cannot go another day without having that food in my mouth!”. Except for when I am too lazy to make it.

Leave a Reply

