Bakin’ Bacon

What is there to eat when we run out of eggs?  Seriously, I think we go through about 4 dozen eggs a week!  This morning there was only one egg left in the refrigerator, and I told my husband that he should always take the last egg because he has to go to work, I can always run out and get more eggs since I am home with the kids.  Well, I can, but I usually don’t because I hate grocery shopping.  You would too if you spent the last six years shopping here.  Dorothy Lane Market is like shopping heaven here on earth.  In fact, I know exactly which aisle and shelf the rosewater I needed for the Cinnamon Beef Stew is located.  I digress.

So we didn’t have any eggs this morning, but we sure had bacon!  So I baked up a pan of bacon for breakfast.  We usually don’t eat a pan of bacon for breakfast, but desperate times call for desperate measures!  I like to drape the bacon over a wire rack and bake at a low temperature -325 degrees or so -for about 30 minutes or so, depending on the thickness of the cut.  You have to watch it carefully and be patient or you will overcook it!  Your efforts will be rewarded with bacon fat that is so perfectly crisped — it tastes better than candy!

Don’t think that we just stood around a hot pan eating only bacon for breakfast!  You have to get the greens in somehow, so I turned it into a bacon salad, at 9:30 am.  It was pretty good!  There was some avocado in the fridge too so I added it.  Along with leftover salad dressing from the night before.  I have been on a roll when it comes to making salad dressing this year – my mom gave us an awesome bullet-like blender and it emulsifies dressing lickety-split.  The rough recipe for this last batch was:

3 cloves roasted garlic

1/2 t fresh dill

1/2 t honey

1 t Dijon mustard

salt

pepper

1/4 c sherry vinegar

2/3 c olive oil

Sometimes I like to pull the supersneak move and add some pulverized anchovy, but I didn’t last night.  For nights when I am just too tired or lazy to make my own dressing, we have a bottle of Newman’s Oil and Vinegar dressing, but it’s been sitting in the fridge since August, mostly untouched. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

